(Butter Chicken)


This weekend was India. I wanted to see what it can do. I wanted to see how to get those flavors. I wanted to see what it’s like to cook with yogurt. I was curious, pure and simple.
Couple of weeks ago I tried Chicken Tikka Masala, as this recipe is best known to us Europeans. But I did not come out very good so do not put the recipe yet. Reading online about Tikka Masala I saw that this dish would be Tradional but was invented somewhere in England. So I said to try something else. And all the wanderings on the net I found that one of the most traditional dishes as Butter Chicken. And here I am.
I mixed 2-3 recipes and pulled her why. Here’s my version last night (for 2 people):
Chicken:

    400 gr. chicken breast, cut into cubes
    
1 teaspoon ginger paste (I think it goes with freshly grated ginger)
    
1 teaspoon paprika
    
1 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
    
1 teaspoon salt
For the sauce:

    30 gr. unsalted butter
    
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
    
1 onion finely chopped
    
2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
    
1 tsp ginger paste
    
1 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
    
3 tsp garam masala
    
1 tsp turmeric powder
    
1 can (420 ml) chopped tomatoes
    
1 cup (125 ml) yogurt, drained of whey
    
1 green chilli, finely chopped (to taste)
    
1 cup (250 ml) water
    
1 cup (125 ml) sour cream
    
½ lemon juiced
    
1 teaspoon of honey
    
fresh coriander leaves for garnish
How to do it:

    In a bowl put the chicken with its marinade ingredients. Keep chicken 1 hour in the refrigerator.
    
Heat 2 tablespoons oil over high heat grapes and chicken fry after stir-fry method. About 3-4 minutes until it becomes a little brown and pink is seeing.
    
Remove chicken to a plate, keeping the oil in the pan. Try not to eat chicken ends up rest. But still, I recommend you taste a piece: it’s great!
    
For the sauce, put the oil pan cumin seeds and stir for about 30 seconds
    
Add onion, garlic and ginger paste and fry them for 3-4 minutes on medium heat
    
Add 1 teaspoon garam masala, chopped chilli, turmeric and two tablespoons of beans teaspoon ground coriander 1 minutes stirring continuously.
    
Add tomatoes, water and salt and pepper. Increase heat a little and bring the whole mix to boil.
    
Decrease heat to medium and simmer 10 minutes
    
In another pan, melt butter and add a teaspoon of garam masala. Add chicken and juice left on the plate while he was away. Mix about 1 minute.
    
Add the melted butter over the sauce.
    
Add yogurt and mix it well in the sauce.
    
Add chicken and keep the heat for another 5 minutes over medium-low.
    
Add sour cream, lemon juice, honey and, optionally, a teaspoon of garam masala. Mix 1-2 minutes on fire yet.
    
I served with rice. (A friend told me that my method of making rice is not rice at good🙂 So he did. )
It came out good, but a little too thick because I did not put too much water (1 cup but I think it would be enough). Normally need more water. I promise to do and put a picture to look more appetizing.

Lasă un răspuns

